I Forge Iron

Hello from North Texas

Chancellor

Hello everyone,
I'm a beginner blacksmith in North Texas, around the Denton area. I've been checking around the forums and they've been incredibly helpful and I thought maybe if I participate I would learn even more. I've been blacksmithing for about a year now, though I've had to take a few extended breaks due to a number of severe droughts. As a result, I feel like I haven't progressed as quickly as I should have. I tried snooping around ntxba.org, but it looks like it hasn't been updated in ages, and there's a notice saying they've cancelled all hammer-ins and their meeting tab pops up with "No meetings available". I don't really know where to go from here.

Anyway, I'm glad to be here, and hope I can contribute at least a little to the forum. At the very least, I hope I can stay active.

The only smith that I know in your area is James Johnson. He's a good contact though and will know if there is anything going on in your area. You can contact him through Anyang USA and see some of his work at their site too: http://www.anyangusa.net/ If you get a chance to visit his shop it will be well worth your time!

Howdy from East TEXAS!! and welcome to IFI! I agree, James is a great guy and very knowledgable. Also contact Chuck Stone, I believe he is Newark...anyway his contact info in on ntxba.com If you want to make a trip to the Longview area give me a holler, I'm 2hrs from the Abrams and Royal area in Dallas...our daughter and son n law live there. Also, if you don't mind the drive, the SouthCental group of Saltfork Craftsmen meet once a month just a few hrs north of you. www.saltforkcraftsmen.org and check the schedule to see where that next meeting is.

Hello, I'm also a beginner, probably much more so than you. I am in Dallas.