I Forge Iron

Forges & Foundries

Jaret

Hi All,

I have been slowly going through your threads and trying to find out what the most efficient ways of building a production shops. I am a plumber/pipefitter/gasfitter. I have knowledge with natural gas, and propane. I have access to all the tools necessary as well as scrap metal.

I have questions that need some help with.

I am looking to get in to bladesmithing and random metal fabrication with steel, copper and so on.

What would be the recommended forge? Gas or coal, if gas, propane or Natural?

What size of a forge would a guy need?

Foundry
Gas or coal

Melting down metals can I guy melt down aluminum motor blocks, copper pipe, brass fittings, railroad track, iron pipe etc? I have access to all this stuff.

I would like to also know about getting rid of impurities about the various metals. How does one go about cleaning your metal you recycle?

Hardening knives, is the a thread here that explains how to make one?

Sorry for the questions, I am just very curious. If there is good reading material like books that can explain all this i would appreciate it.

My great grandfather taught me how make basic knives when i was 14, then he passed away. Now the time has come to rebirth what has been taught and take it to the next level.

Thanks very much.

J.

Jaret; size and fuel depends on WHAT you are making; describing a knife forge won't be any help if you are working 1" sq stock into gates. Don't expect to have 1 forge to do everything. Forges are cheap compared to fuel usage so having a range of size can save a lot of money in the long run. So can you narrow down what "random" entails?