I Forge Iron

i am trying to plan out a hammer that can hit harder when needed. is it possible to make a hammer that that can hit 50# all the way up to 80 or 100#. by adjusting air pressure or makeing a ram that you can change out. have plans for good air cylider for a 125# max ram. and will have to make it fit a design to come up with later. also to adjust ram stroke is for micro switch?
thks

I am no expert on this topic, but when I went on my course, the hammer we used was very controllable. It had a 75# hammer and the instructor demonstated decorative puchwork and then tapering 1.25" H13 round just by controlling the air flow and adjusting the stops. He sells plans for the hammer if you are interested.

The fall weight of the hammer doesn't normally change, but by amping up the PSI you can get a bit more force out of the ram. A lot of hammers run on low PSI I've seen some old steam hammers run on air between 35-100 PSI. BUt to be honest in my experience the difference with big flat dies is practically negligable. If you want to hit "HARDER" think smaller. With all smithing opperations, but with power hammers especially you need to understand VARP: Volume, Area, Resistance, and Power... All increases in the first three result in a greater need for Power... And by reducing one or more of those first three you can work like you have more power. It takes 4x as much Power to forge 1" square than it does to work 1/2" square. But by reducing the Area you are striking you can functionally increase the power you have. Resistance can sometimes be over come by working hotter, (be carefull with high carbon or alloy steels on this)and quiting when you drop below a certain level of acceptable work heat. Generally when the steel trys to jump out of the tongs and attack you then you are working TOO cold;-)

That is why small hammers have SMALL DIES, the Area that a small air hammer can reasonablly be expected to be effective working IS smaller.