I Forge Iron

Forge and heat treat success

I bought some 1084 1/4" 11/2"x12" cut it into quarters and forged a blade draw filed to shape and quenched in motor oil (115 degrees)then heated in the forges dragon breath at a light straw. The first time went to blue so had to anneal and start over.
I went to quench after draw filing, probably should have finished to 120?
I have never tried to heat treat before because my forgings were so poor, so got excited.
Any and all comments welcome..I can take it LOL

The last pic shows a little warp at the tang that i got in the temper.

10797.attach

10798.attach

10799.attach

Well maybe not as successful as I'd hoped but, the forging went well, not alot of scale, the tang drew out Ok, shape was usable, so those are big steps for me.
I didn't file to a thin enough edge( nichel instead of a dime) so after tempering I had to go to the drinder and ended up with axe like blade profile, instead of a flat grind.

The temper is good except from the point back about half inch is soft..
I learned a lot.

10824.attach

10825.attach

10826.attach

10827.attach

10828.attach

10829.attach

It's been a long road to the beginning but they say getting there is half the fun.

I'm getting closer to something worthy of a handle and that will open up a whole new adventure.

m brothers, I have a pile of practice knives, but all had scale pits or grind flaws that I didn't feel were worthy of heat treat, some were RR spike, or unknown metal, then I decided to eliminate one variable by picking one steel 1084 and sticking with it. This is the first one of many to follow and the new steel was a big improvement.