I Forge Iron

Need help-coal forge

PICKETTR

I am a woodworker by hobby, but i also do volunteer work at a pre-revolutionary farm. I, along with others, have built a replica of the family's 1st log cabin, corn crib, root cellar, and blacksmith shop ( he was a blacksmith when he migrated to the carolinas). While we have built the structure for a small (open on 3 sides) shop for period-life demonstrations. We do not yet have a design for period accurate forge. I have several photos of other forges, (mostly from the mid 19th century) but i don't have good plans for a period accurate forge. I have plans for a double chamber bellows, and i will be building that soon. For the past few years, we have had offer of some local blacksmiths that said they would help, but so far, no one has come through. If there is any one out there that could help, i would appreciate it!:d

While I can't say for sure I'd imagine it was field stone masonry with a side blast and side draft chimney.

There is or was one on my wife's farm in the UP of Mi that was all field stone and mud mortared. The blast and draft were long gone but I was able to find the space left by the tuyere iron and some of the chimney was left. There was also an opening in the wall with some framework outside that made me think there was a small waterwheel too.

It's what I'd build if I didn't have specific data on what was in use. Any other construction would require either buying materials or more work making them.

You could check out Colonial Williamsburg for a period forge.

Frosty

Your efforts are wonderful and should be commended.

we have built the structure for a small (open on 3 sides) shop for period-life demonstrations.:D

I have yet to hear of a blacksmith shop that is open on any side. Sounds like a problem with both accuracy and functionality.

We do not yet have a design for period accurate forge:d