I Forge Iron

The Wording of Insurance Poilicies for Smiths

The question came up yesterday after a guild meeting as to what insurance policies really cover. Does anyone have policies that they have acquired through ABANA that they would care to let me read the wording of? I would like to see what the various policies cover in the wording of those policies, for guild insurance, individual demonstrator insurance and individual smith insurance.

Some years ago I took over the paperwork for a non-profit group that did athletic activities and found that the policy they had been paying on for over five years was designed for a trade school and did not cover *any* athletic activities!

I am not a lawyer and don't pretend to be one. But actually reading policies can be a good idea.

Is it even possible to get insurance as a smith?
Someone started a thread last month about forging and house insurance - apparently very bad juju. Many smith friends of mine are of the opinion -Don't ask / Don't tell - suck up the risk. As it is I'm still in the dark about insurance and smithing so any wisdom others have will be greatly appreciated by me.

Thanks for asking the question Unicorn.

Is it even possible to get insurance as a smith?

Someone started a thread last month about forging and house insurance - apparently very bad juju. Many smith friends of mine are of the opinion -Don't ask / Don't tell - suck up the risk. As it is I'm still in the dark about insurance and smithing so any wisdom others have will be greatly appreciated by me.

see the thread at

http://www.iforgeiron.com/forum/f7/insurance-demos-events-6676/

Mark

I read that other thread and it really did not provide any useful information. My question is about the policies that the various guilds and individuals have acquired through ABANA.

I would like to read a couple sample policies to see what the wording is in them, and what the policies actually cover, not what people may think the policies cover.