I Forge Iron

Brake drum anvil stand

I’m trying to determine how to mount my 208 lb  Hay-Budden  anvil to 2 truck brake drums. Should I use a steel plate to mount it or use sand in the upper brake drum ? The picture is just a mockup of what I want to do. The height is just about right for me also. I’m fairly new to this so any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

42EED15A-9B6E-4DB3-A3A7-211233A345A6.jpeg

EWWWW NO! :o Okay, enough early morning drama. Just because you have something doesn't mean you have to use it. In my experience brake drum and wheel tool stands may be stable but get in the way. There will be times you'll want to get up close and personal with your anvil but with that stand you won't be able to. It's not that much different than a wood block, true but a section of tree trunk anvil stand restricts access too. 

A sand box anvil stand is an excellent stand, it really quiets noisy anvils, is easily adjustable for height and portable. Lift the anvil out, dump the sand in a couple buckets and pour it back in when you get it where you're going. Pretty nifty eh? They're typically an open topped wooden box you fill with angular sand and set your anvil in. If all you have available is alluvial stream or river sand securing the anvil to a wood base to prevent it from shifting or sinking in the sand might be called for. Sharp sand keys together and doesn't shift much once packed. Alluvial is round and smooth so it literally rolls past itself when disturbed. Make sense?