I Forge Iron

Another first time ribbon burner forge build thread

Bull Bison

Got my forge completed finally. Over the last two nights been slowly bringing it up to temp. First night let it run at low temp for about ten minutes, last night for roughly thirty minutes at half mass. Gonna crank it up a little more tonight over some drinks. No cracks yet, holding up well. 

Made out of an thirteen gallon compressor tank, 12" OD and 24" long. Lined with 2" of Kao Wool and 1-2" of Mizzou. I figure I'm setting at about 500 cu in.

Ribbon burner is 9" x 3" with twenty five ~1/4" orifices (I used drinking straws). I cast it using Mizzou which seems like a good robust product. 

Had it running at 1 PSI last night which seemed like I could potentially drop it a little more once up to temp (forging temp not welding temp). We'll see, I'm still learning, fun times. 

IMG_6083.jpg

IMG_6084.jpg

IMG_6087.jpg

IMG_6089.jpg

IMG_6090.jpg

Thanks, I'm sure your right on it being too long. The more research I keep doing, albeit a little late, the more it's becoming apparent that is probably the situation. 

I wonder if I could cast a removable "plug" out of Mizzou to take up some cu in. 

In my previous life I would hit BBQ cook offs and ended up building a rather big trailer smoker. The fellers on the BBQ forums had, through years of trial and error, created a formula that would kick out the size of your firebox, air intake, exhaust flue, etc. based off the size of cooking area you needed. I'm sure a similar formula could be created, or probably already has been and I just haven't ran across it yet, for these forges based on the size / cu inches you need. 

When you describe the liner you say it has 1-2" of Missou, did you mean to type 1/2"?  One to TWO inches of hard refractory inner liner / flame face is way more than necessary to the point of being detrimental.

Looks good, how does it work for you?