I Forge Iron

6061 - Casting

Ok, before I get the knee jerk response that 6061 isn't good for casting I actually have something to add to the subject.  Well, I think I do.  

Yes, 6061 as it is is not great for casting, but because of my primary business I generate a lot of scrap 6061.  The first solution I found is maybe beyond the average backyard metal caster.  Its pressure die casting and fast cooling.  You still have to make some allowances in your design for shrinkage and what not because you are making a molten metal solid, but it doesn't allow for the grain structure formation that seems to make 6061 less suitable for casting.  Its an industrial process and take a little more than most people are willing to do, but I saw it as a possibility.  Not one I would likely do because of the work or capital (or a little of both involved), but a possibility.  I'm not an expert on the subject by any means.  I've just read a couple articles on it and a few published research papers that touch on it.  The steel dies would not be horrible for me to make.  Its the whole pressure casting setup that is a bit more involved.    

The other one was a bit of a surprise.  I posted in a machining group to give away a bunch of small bits to somebody who could use them for their hobby machining projects.  I sent off a stuffed full padded flat mail envelope (not even a noticeable dent in my scrap piles) of small blocks.  A few days later a fellow by the monicker of Gary H Lucas said he considered those to be melty bits.  I run into Gary on various forums and he's usually not full of horse pucky, so I explained that those were 6061 and generally not accepted to be great for metal casting.  Yep.  He agreed and then explained he adds a small amount of silicon metal and it then pours a lot like 356.