I Forge Iron

Hello from Aiken, SC

Jim A

Hi, all!

I’m 51, retired Army, now on my second career. I’m married and have 3 kids (now grown and moved out). I own a house with a big backyard, but live in town.

I’m a brand-new hobbyist. I was trying to learn how to cast small bits for a project, and while researching DIY foundries, I discovered forges instead.

My interests lie more in making tools, hooks, simple strap hinges and brackets for my woodworking projects, and so forth. I’ll bang out the occasional knife, probably.

So far, my forge is a hole in the ground with a few common bricks around it — but I’ll be posting a thread in the Solid Fuel section here in a bit, because I’d like to ask for suggestions on how to build my next one.

I’ve done a fair bit of lurking already, and learned some valuable stuff. Glad to be here!

Edit: I guess I should add that I’ve made one thing — a simple rebar knife. I did that to get an easy win starting out, and to see if I like it. I’ll probably use rebar a bit to begin with. It’s lousy metal, but I have a fair bit of it around, and I guess it’ll be useful for learning to square, draw out, bend, etc.

Welcome aboard, Jim.  I suggest that you visit the website of the Artist-Blacksmith Association of North America (ABANA) and find your nearest local affiliate and join or contact them.  That will get you under the wing of more experienced local/regional blacksmiths.  Also, once you watch someone making something either on a video or in person try to do it yourself as soon as possible.  Muscle memory lasts longer than mental memory.  Doing a task sets it in your mind much more firmly.

"By hammer and hand all arts do stand." 

So in town Blacksmithing:

1 Smokeless fuel:  it can be anything from charcoal, coke, anthracite for solid fuels and Propane or Natural gas for gassers or an electric induction forge.