I Forge Iron

Greeting from Portland, OR, USA

WilCo

My initial interest in blacksmithing was to be able to make my own (hand) tools for (mostly greenish) woodworking & carving, although now that I have started, my interest in producing decorative and useful items and other tools is also growing.

I also dabble in leatherworking, mostly sheaths or covers for tools.

I started learning blacksmithing last fall (December 2019), with a 1-day introductory course at Trackers Portland, under the tutelage of the great Rashell. I was finally able to begin taking advantage of the weekly 2-hour open forge that Trackers offers in February and had done so a few times before everything fell apart.

I had been considering a small home setup even before everything was shutdown (2 hours/wk isn't much time), so I am working on that now. I recently noticed that Trackers open forge time is going again, so I am hoping to be back there soon, although I have a bit of tendonitis at the moment.

I have no background in metalworking, welding, etc.

You may want to read up on blacksmith's elbow AKA tendonitis and how to modify your tools and work habits to avoid it.  I went through a spell 30 years ago where my arm got so bad I had to forge Titanium as the CP 1&2 grades are butter soft at working temps and I could use a very small hammer to forge it.

(Too heavy a hammer, too large a hammer handle (diameter), wearing a glove on your hammer hand, placing your thumb on the handle instead of around it are all MAJOR tendonitis causes.)

See if your health insurance covers acupuncture. My wife (a professional violist) almost had her career ended by tendonitis in the shoulder, but a few sessions with a good acupuncturist took care of it, and it never came back.