I Forge Iron

New with many questions.

the_last_gmg

Hi all, as you may have guessed I'm a newb. I live in Southeast Missouri and have been wanting to try my hand at blacksmithing and blade smithing. I tired my hand at buying an anvil at auction and that failed so I think I'm going to try my hand at building my forge, which please correct me if I'm wrong, is probably better than buying a inexpensive one off of Amazon. Now it seems like from my reading an oval is a good shape for a forge. However if I were to use a 20lb propane tank for the shell, is that too going to be to big of an oval and also is a forge of that size to big for someone that is just starting out? Thanks in advance.

Welcome!  It really helps to provide a lot of details when you ask questions; you may note that you don't say you are going to build a propane forge; I've seen oval firepot coal forges and they can be built from propane tanks...

What size and shape your propane forge should be is based a lot on what you plan to make and if you enjoy/can afford wasting propane. (Wanting to make a huge gas guzzling forge for your first one seems to be almost the norm.)  If you want to build a propane forge from a propane tank Wayne Coe's website has plans and instructions on how to build them and the plans for the Frosty T burner are on this site---a HOT burner designed to be built with minimal fancy tooling!

Now as for anvils: I strongly suggest you review the following thread:

An improvised anvil will allow you to do excellent work on the cheap while you use the TPAAAT to find a london pattern anvil at a reasonable price.

Note that the JABOD forge made from scrap wood and filled with good MO clay and fired with homemade charcoal is a great way to get started while you are working on a fancier set up.  Time at the forge and anvil makes you a better smith than fancy equipment and no time at the forge and anvil!