I Forge Iron

Baffle question

Excaliber

I was working on building my first ribbon burner.  I had a thought.  Instead of cutting out a hole for the 2" pipe and adding a baffle.  Could I just drill 1/4" holes where the 2" pipe was going to be welded and create a baffle that way.   

Also If I did that would adding a baffle help or hinder the fuel.  My guess is that it would all help mix and disperse the fuel.

I put a baffle inside mine.  It was an upside down wide v-shaped thing...........kind of like a wing.  My understanding was it helped distribute the gas/air mixture toward both ends of the burner so the mixture didn't just go straight to the middle of the burner.  I'm no engineer, but all I can say is my burner worked flawlessly from the first firing.  Very happy with it.  This is a short video of my first firing.  So I vote for the diversion baffle inside the burner.

p3866474508-210.mp4

It would still allow gas and air to enter the burner box.........................but it wouldn't divert those materials towards the ends of the box to evenly distribute them to the entire burner face.   It might be over-kill, but I believe many people would agree it's important to get the entire homogenized mix out to all the holes in your plenum.  Here's a very poorly drawn sketch of what I'm talking about.  My baffle goes all the way across the box  but only covers about 2/3rds the length and is filled with random 1/4" holes.Sketch-half.thumb.jpg.131a820c3bd0d4a1f6adbe6bdbb5e692.jpg

Drilling the entry point to the plenum as described won't solve either issue. First all the flow will still be entering in ONE place. Second it'll be as if not more restrictive than the ones in John's plans. 

A baffle similar to what Chris describes and illustrates is much more effective without increasing back pressure significantly.