I Forge Iron

Anvil ID and Edge Repair, A Vulcan?

Hello, looking for some help with identification and some advice on how to use this anvil. 

Picked it up in rural Alberta, Canada. Thomas Powers method while having a cold one on a porch with friends of the inlaws. 

• A little over 100 lb, maybe 110 lb
  • Previous owner took a grinder to the faceplate, not me. I just wire brushed the sides looking for identification
  • Didn't find any markings, no handling holes on the bottom. There is a mould seam running right down to the feet.
  • Guessing cast iron with a welded steel face. The difference in from faceplate to body is easily visible from the sides. Additionally the rough edge condition might from be from perimeter welding? 
  • Could be cast steel but I'm no expert. I attached a video with a "ring" test. 
  • Rebound is respectable.
  • Might be a Vulcan, but hoping the experienced folks can give me a bit more information.

The edges are really rough, I think I have to do something to make it useable. I might be able to get access to a mill at work. Would it be advisable to mill off the rough portion of the perimeter and skim the faceplate? For the edges if I was to take it down to the good material I would have to remove around .250-.300 inches per side. I am worried that doing this might cause the faceplate to pop off. Not sure if faceplates like this are forge welded? Advice would be appreciated :)

Video with ring test at this link: https://photos.app.goo.gl/cnLskf5LDSox96DZ9

Some photos below.

IMG_20190710_063905.thumb.jpg.9d302d36749b21231aad2599195d90bc.jpg

IMG_20190711_170447.jpg

IMG_20190711_170621.jpg

IMG_20190711_170624.jpg

IMG_20190711_170750.jpg

IMG_20190710_063901.jpg

IMG_20190711_170946.jpg