I Forge Iron

Hello all. I am just beginning to forge and to put together the necessary equipment. At the moment I’m using a section of railroad that belonged to my grandfather. I’m in south Florida and anvils seem to be less common here. The anvil pictured is currently for sale. The listed weight is 236 and comes with the leg less(?) post vise and home made(?) anvil stand pictured  the seller is asking $1,500 or best offer. From the best I can tell it appears to be in fairly good shape as the edges and face look clean. Is there anything I should ask the seller (more picture, specific marking, etc)? Is this a fair price in the current market  based on searches it appears a few years ago this would have been overpriced but I know the markets have changed. The anvil is located about two hours from my house so I would like to be fairly certain that this is the anvil for me prior to viewing it in person  Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Andrew

’ 

E0BF68E6-F481-4515-B240-AF9947EBC02D.jpeg

Based on the provided link it appears most believe it to be too high. The Anvil below was also on my radar. I liked the peter wright for the history and I could not find any information about this anvil. The closest was a post on Bladeforums asking if another anvil may have been made by Doug Noren. This following informstion is provided “158-160 lb. 8640 cast steel anvils. The anvils are hardened and tempered to a Rc hardness of 52-55 and have excellent rebound. The work surface is 4" x 16". The hardy hole is 7/8" square and the pritchel hole is 1/2" diameter.” Based on the top view it appears to have been milled and I know the raised letters in the name indicates it was cast. However that is all the information I can gather. Has anyone heard of this brand of anvil? He is asking $850

088E55F0-C74F-40E5-BB65-815D9AC1BC40.jpeg

657E5788-3348-4AD6-8C16-DD89906FFEDE.jpeg

Hi; I've never driven a car before should I buy a Maserati or a Lamborghini to learn on?