I Forge Iron

Hello

I have been away from my forge for 2 years due to a motorcycle accident. Now it is time to get the hammer back in hand and begin trying to remember what I think I knew. In the past couple weeks I have done a couple real small projects and my body just isn't impressed with the idea of smithing. So I am having to take it a bit slower than I would like.

My interest in smithing came when I was very young. My great grandfather was a smith by profession, and although he passed away before I was born his equipment sat unused in his garage until I was about 6 years old. That is when I sat in my dads truck and watched him load all great gradpa's tools into the back of the truck and proceeded to the scrap yard. I know there was at least 5 anvils, post vises, tongues of every type and sort. The only thing that was kept was a few hammers. I did obtain one of these hammers and it is by far my favorite.
As for my smithing, I started out working in an early 1800 village with a gentleman who helped me with the basics and yet allowed me to make enough mistakes to keep myself frustrated with me and not him. My mentor has since past away but I and about 5 others that I know of carry on his teachings in some fashion.

I still forge with coal. Currently I am using a portable ratchet forge that was in bad shape when I had found it... I worked it over and it works great but I am also in the process of gathering the goods for a more permanent forge as I try and finally set up my shop. It gets very old draggin things out and then dragging them back away.

Besides my love of smithing, we also operate a small scale farm where we raise most of our own meat and much of our own vegetables. I also tinker with leather work, carpentry, and many other areas interest. As part of my rehab from the wreck I even learned to crochet... I am also the scoutmaster for the Boy Scout Troop here in our small town.