I Forge Iron

Air hammer parts

I decided awhile ago I wanted to build a air hammer so i bought a compressor
it runs at 10.3 cfm 135 psi 12.4 100 psi

i want to run a small/medium sized hammer i was told 2 x 12 inch cylinder would work fine

I have none of the parts yet for it though because im not 100% sure what to get or where even to get it im hoping someone informed might be able to help me out a bit

thanks

The experts at big blu say you need 17 cfm @ 140 psi. This is for their 110 lb hammer that has a 2.5" bore cylinder. I'm not sure how big you want to make your ram. If your compressor ends up being too small you can always add another compressor and use them both. I know of several people that have 150 lb hammers and use a couple of 5 hp compressor to give themselves continous use. I'm not an expert but this should help a little.

Hi Bryce
If you do a google serch for air cylinders you will get a number of co. that want to sell you stuff, find one near you, likley the personel there can help you with the valveing. And determining what you really want for sizing of the components. If you don't have one yet a copy of Ron Kinyon's book would be a good idea. There is a you tube video on changeing the switch to be more dynamic on a kinyon hammer look there, I think the improvements are worth while unless all you are doing is drawing things out then I wouldn't bother.
I also think that your compressor may not be enough, but I would always try what I have before buying something more.
If you don't need that much room between your dies a 10 inch long cylinder will need about 17% less air.

I recently finished building a Kinyon style air hammer. The ram weight with the die is around 55 pounds. I used a 2x10 cylinder, and it works fine. A 12.4 cfm compressor @ 100 psi should be more than adequate. I strongly suggest that you get a set of Ron Kinyon's plans from ABANA, unless you already have a good set of plans or access to another hammer that you want to copy.