I Forge Iron

Many questions regarding scales

Let me begin by saying that I am no pro. I hope one day I can be as good as some of the smiths on this site. I also apologize for low picture quality. 

Anyways, I just finished up this knife last night. It's far from perfect, but I am satisfied with it. The heat treat went very well, it fits my hand nicely, its sharper than sharp and it holds an edge well. But I am not a very good wood worker. The scales are rudimentary at best. The edges all the way around the scale are rounded, but the surface is flat. It feels a little too "square-ish." Any tips for a newbie? How do some of you guys make the scales so beautiful?! I know, practice, practice, practice, but anything besides that? I don't have a belt sander, which would help immensely! I made these with a wood rasp, a surform, and sandpaper.

Another question I have is regarding the pins. I hand peened them, as that's the only way I know how. When all was said and done the pins stuck up above the scale just barely, but enough that I can feel it. I filed them as flush as I could without marking up the scale, but it's still not where I want to see it. I can post more pics if need be. Any advice would be very helpful. Constructive criticism is always welcome. Thanks in advance.

Will

IMG_20161203_172108459.jpg

As to the pins, counter sink the hole a  bit before inserting the pin. 

If you want a curved surface think about building a wide hacksaw frame and attaching a loose length of roll sandpaper. instead of the saw blade. Or you can just hold the ends of the sandpaper if you wish. The loose sandpaper will follow the contours of the wood, removing any high spots, and can create a radius.