I Forge Iron

Invention/patent legal advice

KevinD

I have a working prototype of a product that I want to market.

There is already a product on the market similar to mine. The original has a patent.

My question is...

How much trouble can I get in if I just start producing and marketing my version?

Any patent attorneys here?

I'm not a patent lawyer or even approaching that, but I would say that you run a huge risk of a court case if the patent holders decide that your design infringes their patent.

I'd try to get a patent for your design, as that aught to offer some protection. As in - if it were significantly the same as the competition's, then you owuld not have been granted a patent?

Definitely get professional advice. :)

I figure any professional help (patent attorney, product development) would price the product out of it's already small market.

I can do most of the work (development, manufacture, packaging, shipping) myself and not have those expenses.

I'm just wondering how much trouble I can get into if I "just do it"

There are enough differences in my product that I believe I could defend myself but the cost of litigation would far out weigh any potential profit.

I guess the first person I need to talk to would be the person who would be defending me in that situation.