I Forge Iron

Flue and hood recommendations

MAXJEEP

I am new to all this but have a young son who loves it.  I built a 10x10 lean to with a steal roof and a crushed limestone floor.  A neighbor gave me 8 inch double wall wood stove flue pipe, cap, flashing, and celing support.  My first question...do I cut a hole in the steal and screw  the flashing to the inside and caulk the heck out of it?  My roof is the standard pole barn steel...not flat.  It has a 3- 12 pitch.   My second question.. Do I build a side draft or a hood.  The building is not air tight.  The walls are dog ear fence and I lined the inside with left over roof steal around the forge while leaving 25-30 inches from the fire pot to the walls.  I thought of using a cut 55 gallon drumb for a hood or a 25-30 gallon drumb for a side draft stack and attaching the double wall pipe to the top,of it. Just looking for advise.  Will any of these ideas work?  

Most recomend 12" (10" as a minimum) as to the flashing, most steel roofing suppliers have silicon roof jacks that have soft aluminum flanges, just cut the cone to the right size. 500 degrees and all is well. 

Try zipping two peices of 6" together (the seam unlatches). Usualy you won't see 500 degrees up at the roof with a 12" stack. 

Side draft is easer to work around, one of the guys has a peice of 1/2" ID heavy pipe on the table with a hole cut in the side and 12" flue pipe nested to it. 

Welcome aboard MaxJeep, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many of the Iforge gang live within visiting distance.

Check with a wood stove, fireplace or roofing supply for a proper roof flange. 8" is pretty small for a good draft and double wall is unnecessary. The smoke from a coal forge doesn't usually carry much waste heat like a heating stove exhaust.