I Forge Iron

Hello from Alaska

Greetings from Alaska

I must say having watched those Forged in Fire shows and Iron and Fire, my interest in blacksmithing was born. I recently (and with the help of a friend and his property) made a forge out of a semi truck drum from the brakes. We fashioned legs for it from an old ladder rack. and I bought a hand crank blower from Amazon. We even built a 150lbs anvil out of old rail road track supports and plates. 

We got the forge working and it does ok with charcoal. Its all we had but I know we need real coal. But aside from watching you tube videos and tv shows, I have no experience in smithing. But it has been fun so far. I have made two blades out of rail road spikes although neither are finished yet. I have a little bit left to do on them before I harden them.

So just saying hello and introducing myself. Looking forward to learning all I can from the rest of you guys.

Do you have slots cut out of the sides of the drum so that you can put your steel in horizontally?  Semi brake drums are usually much worse for forges than pickup brake drums with a sheet metal fence in them.

Coal did not start to be used in smithing until the high to late middle ages, (Gies & Gies, "Cathedral, Forge and Waterwheel") so all the viking pattern welded swords were done using charcoal, (real charcoal NOT briquettes!!!!); Japanese swords are forged using charcoal till this very day.  Probably more people around the world using charcoal to make a living forging than coal.  Why do you think you need coal? (The sulfur in coal is not good for your steel; not real important for most ornamental work but a concern for bladesmithing which is why blades should be forged in well coked clean coal fires if you are using coal.)

BTW if you edit your profile to include your location as Alaska it will stop a lot of location requests when you ask questions that have a location specific aspect---like where to get steel, fuel, local smiths, etc.