I Forge Iron

NEW burners

dps9999

hey guys so first let me say if this info is out there please just point me in the right direction i did do a search couldn't find much and what i did find seems to have conflicting info to other stuff i found......so that being said i just built a new forge and got two new burners. my old set up was only 10 in deep  8 in diameter 1 inch of inswool and satinite with a fire brick floor and a VENTURI burner. the new one is mostly the same 8 in diameter pipe 1 inch of inswool satinite fire brick floor but this one is 24 inches deep and has 2 FORCED AIR burners. so i have never used forced air burners before this so i am looking for a little advice on how to tune it. yesterday (while i was waiting for the satinite to dry on the new forge) i decide to take one of the new forced air burners and put it in the smaller old forge to see how it works. So now the only 2 things i played with was the air gate valve and the propane regulator. these new burners were bought from hightemptools.com as  a kit and i put them together. so besides the air gate and the regulator it has 2 other valves (i always get the names of these two valves wrong but...) i think the one that has a handle that just piviots 90 degrees is a ball valve right? all that does is act as a quick shut off right??? the other valve is called a needle valve i THINK (if you click the link below it shows a picture of the burner the one i am talking about that i think is called a needle valve is the last little valve on the propane intake right before where the propane hose screws in) so anyway i didnt mess with that one yet. what is it for is it another shut off or does it help in tuning the burner? any help or advice on how to operate and/or tune these burners and what the "needle" valve is and how it works would really be appreciated!  THANKS guys!

picture of forced air burner.......         forcedairburner.jpg