I Forge Iron

Right burner size

jacobd

Hi guys, the shop I share has a regular coal forge, but I want to build a smallish propane forge for working on knives as in the past I've ruined knives due to improper heat control (burning them and yelling bad things). I just want to use 8-10" diameter piece of nongalvanized lightweight stove pipe, line it with Inswool, and use a couple firebricks along the floor, maybe add some ITC later. I plan only on it being 12-16" long, and with 2 inches of wool lining it. Recommendations on a burner to buy or build to suit that size? I don't plan on welding in it. Also, I've been looking on hightemptools but while I do have some disposable income I am on a college budget, so recommendations for where to buy and what to buy would be awesome. I could probably build it but I have no experience with gas forges and am sure you guys could help. If you wanted to build a forge that size on a budget how would yall go about it? Or should I just buy the smaller devil forge on ebay. I was hoping to get out cheaper than $180. Not including bottle and reg. My main question is about the burner but I'm all ears to anything you guys have to say. 

The main determining factors for forge burner are: Volume and shape, desired temperature, type of liner.

If you go with a 10" shell and 2" of ceramic wool it will have an ID of 6", not counting any little oddnesses caused by the floor. figuring area the of the ID in sq." you get 28.28 sq". Multiply by the chamber's length. x12= 339 cu"  and x16"= 452 cu".

By the volume a 3/4" burner will bring 300-350 cu" to welding heat so your 12 chamber is middle of range. The 16" needs more burner.