I Forge Iron

Just getting started

HEAP of JEEP

I told my story in the introduction thread, but since my real goal is to become more proficient in knife smithing, I figured I'd introduce myself here too.  I'm still very new to black smithing in general, with just a couple of months under my belt.  After getting the forge set up and tracking down and anvil and a few different hammers, I spent some time making some tools... tongs, a hardy cut off, etc... and then decided I wanted to try a blade. 

My ultimate goal is to make pattern welded knives, but since I'm brand new to this, I didn't want to waste a whole of time if I didn't have the right steel, so I decided to do a proof of concept, knife shaped object.  Its made from an old Jeep leaf spring, and some mild steel I had lying around from a bumper I fabricated this past summer.  I got it to 56 layers, did the rough grinding, hardened and tempered it, then sanded and etched it.  Proof of concept complete, so decided to try an actual knife.12274704_908762899203935_214079693969868

I started out with a few more layer, so the finished layer count on that one is 72.  Its a hidden tang, and the handle is made from some old scrap maple with a strip of walnut in the middle.  Its been a long time since I've done any wood working, so I've got to re-learn that, as well as learning about smithing.  Over all, for a first knife, I'm pretty happy with how it turned out.