I Forge Iron

Commercial Gas Forge Recommendations, please?

northtowntom

I live in a fairly densely populated neighborhood of North Las Vegas and in order to curtail my run-ins with Johnny Law, I've decided that it's probably easier to go with a gas forge.

I'm looking to do mainly small pieces - leather working tools, furniture hardware, etc., - so I'm not concerned about the capacity limitations of the forge.

I'm mostly concerned about efficiency. There's a propane refilling station within walking distance, which is good, as every vehicle I own is two-wheeled. But I don't necessarily want to be running over there three or four times a day.

I've looked around the web and on this site, and I've not been able to find that much information as to how much gas I will go through.

And as I'm a leatherworker first and a woodworker second and a complete noob to metalworking, I don't have the ability to make my own. Even if it's really easy. My budget isn't enormous, but I'm definitely going to purchase one.

I'll make the next one. I promise. :)

So here are the questions:
1) Do you have good experiences with a commercial forge on the market?
and
2) How often does it need a new tank?

Thanks in advance, all!

I have a NC Forge Whisper Momma Open End atmospheric gas forge Centaur Forge-NC Whisper Momma Atmospheric Forge, Open End Model
that operates at 3 - 4 psi for regular forging without the cost of the air blower unit/electricity. close the ends and the front door and it will heat up whatever fits inside with no problem. A 20lb propane cylinder will last fairly well, but I'd recommend buying a 40 lb cylinder which for a couple hours a day will last for a few weeks. I also have a Mankel 3 burner air blown gas forge I bought off EBay real cheap in one of my best scores ever Centaur Forge-Mankel Open-End 115 volt Triple Burner Forge