I Forge Iron

Very new at this....questions

Codycrusenberry

Im 21, automotive tech, body/paint man by trade, woodworking as a hobby, i enjoy metal work as well, im excited to get going with knifemaking. My questions to you, have probably been addressed, so forgive me. Ive made a simple forge, using a steel pre-heating propane torch, running into a small brick forge. Im doing it all outside, what are the risk factors of an explosion or fire here? Im no fool, but i have limited time dealing with propane, just dont want to have any bad times with that. Second question is regarding my insulation, ceramic fiber board, will it emit toxic fumes in which i need a respirator? Or being outside should i be okay? I know some risk must be involved but how great? I wear a respirator at work, sometimes all week in a paint booth, it isnt exactly wonderful, being 95° out. So if i can avoid it, i would like that. Thanks in advanced for my rookie questions. 

• 4 months later...

Hand torches simply aren't designed for, and don't belong inside of heating equipment. You'll be far better off building or buying an air-fuel burner; that said plenty of guys have got away with using jewelers torches that way; I just don't recommend it, because plenty of guys get away with plenty of things--until sum guy doesn't...

How great a risk usually depends on length of exposure more than amount of it. The social battle over Industrial contamination started being fought here in the sixties, and  biased information was generated by both sides. I was chair of the Boiler Makers local #104 safety committee, and witnessed a lot of "down and dirty" tricks. But the strongest fact that I took away from that experience was that health studies can't help generating flawed statistics over time, because most guys  are just passing through the trades these days, while bad health impact shows up strongest in guys who spend their careers in a single trade.