I Forge Iron

Some Ideas for a different way of grinding blades.

basher

I have been grinding blades a while now and find that I am good and quick at it , (relatively).
I am heavy and strong and good angular control of my hands.
 However I find it hard on my body, the constant force applied through wrists locked in a very controlled manner leaves me in pain , wrists , elbows forearm the whole power train so to speak.
 Now that is not too surprising really as I have been grinding and smithing for 20 years and have pushed myself a little too much in the past.
 however I have had a growing suspicion that we (us modern folk) are missing a trick or two that the "old time" grinders of yesteryear did not miss.
 and slowly a realisation has grown upon me .. sheffield grinders apply pressure by putting the work under a board they sit on, using their body weight (thanks Josh for bringing that one to my realisation.)
  French Bill hook grinders use a kind of board that fits over their lower leg and lean into the wheel, using their body weight.
and I have seen another (black and white) vid of sickle grinders using a levered arm that applies pressure to the steel using their foot power.
 In all these cases , especially the modern sheffield grinder they are doing super fast work, using their body weight to apply force to the blade and there hands to guide the blade.
They are using stones......but can a grinding stone be as good as modern ceramic belts? probably not?
So I have been experimenting . I tried using a foot lever to apply pressure but found it did not have the control I needed and just ruined work and threw belts.
 so I went simpler.
 I grind sitting down. so I made this.....

16633345875_0e7688e111_c.jpg

16632268471_99ffd26df4_c.jpg

Basically a wooden cross, with a space to put my knees (i wear knee pads when using it in anger) and another cross to hold a blade , with a couple of screws in it to keep the blade in place.