I Forge Iron

What is babbitt?

Hello to all. I am a frequent visitor to this site, but I have never really posted because I am not a blacksmith and I am not even sure that I would even be classified as a "blacksmith wannabe". (Oh, for the record, I have no interest in swords or knives.) I am a woodworker with a mild interest in blacksmithing...well "mild" may be too mild of a description of my interest. Over the last couple of years I have been gathering and storing the necessary equipment to dabble in the profession a wee bit. I have a small Trenton anvil, a Buffalo machinist/boilermakers forge, various hammers, coal, a post vice, an assortment of junkyard steels to learn with and two pair of ratty old tongs to help me build the tongs that I will need. I have dressed the hammers to what I think I will need and did some very minor work on the horn of the anvil, but the forge blower is what is needing some work. With retirement looking good for next year it is time to get these things ready and get all this stuff in one pile, so to speak.