I Forge Iron

Burner heat output - 1/2" versus 3/4" - I know what, but not why...

jcornell

I've been playing with burner and forge designs.  Forge #1 was a brick pile with a 3/4" Z-burner from Larry Zoeller.   Subsequently I started playing with small "bean can" forges, using a 3# coffee can for the forge body.  Attached picture is experimental forge #4.  It's got 1 inch of superwool HT, treated with colloidal silica as a rigidizer.  After the rigidizer was dry and cooked, I put on an experimental refractory coating, a mixture of 4 parts zircopax and one part kaolin.  Instead of using water to make a slurry, I used the colloidal silica rigidizer. It worked out fairly well on the rigidized superwool.  It's tough, it's very reflective.

Experimental forges 2, 3 and 4 (all bean can designs) all used a 1/2" scaled down version of the Z-burner, which I call the Wye Burner.  I like the Wye burner, but the 1/2" burner wasn't putting out as much heat as I'd like.  So I built a 3/4" burner loosely based on the micro-mongo design.  Attached picture shows the 1/2" Wye Burner and the 3/4" micro-mongo burner.  Both burners are using a Tweco 14T-23 (.023) mig tip.  Using the same regulator setting, same burner tip as the 1/2" burner,  the 3/4" burner puts out a LOT more heat than the slightly smaller burner.  

I don't understand why I'm getting so much more heat.  The regulator is set at the same pressure, the mig tip is the same diameter, but the 3/4" burner beats the 1/2" burner in heat output, hands down.  With the regulator and gas input being the same, why is there such a difference in heat output?

Can you wise blacksmiths explain this one to me?  Please?

post-9780-0-96959600-1381541565_thumb.jp

post-9780-0-41492900-1381541579_thumb.jp

One of the difficulties when burners, forges, etc are under discussion is terminology. "Heat" and "Temperature" seem to be used interchangeably by many people and they are not the same thing at all.