I Forge Iron

Safety advice for a beginner

iDuggitz

Hello everyone!

I am just starting out doing some smithing...well I have't actually STARTED...but...y'know.  It has been a dream of mine since I was a little boy.  I was in a place in British Columbia called "Barkerville" and I saw a smithy hammering out a gold-mining pan.  It's a memory that will always stick with me.

Now that I am older and own my own house and a large garage, I have the means to finally start following that dream...

I have began collecting tools and a few pairs of tongs (that I will be resurfacing).  I have aquired a few large (3 foot) sections of 1" thick I-Beam that I am going to substitute as an anvil until I manage to acquire one (I have a friend that might be bringing one back for me today from a road trip).  I also have safety gear (leather gloves, glasses, leather smock, etc.).  Of course I also have a large vise, a bench grinder, etc.  Basic stuff.

The only thing I need now is a forge.  I am going to be building a propane forge utilizing 2" fire bricks and refractory mortar.  It's just going to be a tiny forge as all I want to do for now is get used to the whole process.  I am a very fast learner, but I don't expect to just be able to pull of a masterpiece by throwing some random piece of metal into the forge and hitting it with my cross-pein.  I want to see how the metal works, moves, bends and folds.  I want to see how hot I need to make it and when to quench, etc.  To be honest, I expect it to be a year before I forge anything even half decent.

Now to the whole purpose of this post.  I want to make sure that I don't kill myself or anyone else in the process.  My fiancee fully supports what I want to do, but she is concerned about me burning down the garage.  I have been relentlessly reading the forums here and haven't really found any solid answers to my questions.

1.) If I am running a tiny propane forge in a large, 2 car garage, do I require any ventilation?