I Forge Iron

Propane systems - sealing threads?

Hi guys, I just got my first propane burner. gonna try to rig up a propane forge rather than burning charcoal all the time. I've got a regulator that feeds a hose which is connected at the other end to a needle valve, a T for connecting a gauge, and then it goes into the actual burner.

My question (I'm new to propane) is do i need to (and how do i) seal the threads on the connections. Can I solder them?

Thanks

Sorry for the double post but it looks like the edit button is gone (?). I also realized that the threads are a bit tight, i would be tempted to put a bit of oil on them to get them to fit all the way together without risking damaging the threads.. Then I'd solder the connections closed. Bad idea?

To me, bad idea. Teflon tape will seal the threads, There is a special heavy yellow for natural gas (propane is similar to natural gas), but the regular white stuff should work. I've used it at a few thousand psi, you're working with a few 10's of psi. Not a big problem. Just use a soap solution to test the joints and have fun. Don't use oil.

I know my knowledge is several years old and T tape may have been changed or specially made so it's okay. I just don't know and where safety is concerned pretty conservative. I'd make a call, the local heating/plumbing guys are on the ball.

Frosty The Lucky.

I knew about using the the yellow teflon tape from lab renos at work and then walking around the side of our house just the other day I noticed whoever did the gas plumbing used the white stuff. Most people will know about this but just in case, the tape works better if (facing the front end of the thread) you wind it clockwise. If you wind it the other way the winding action tends to draw the tape away from the thread.