I Forge Iron

Going public for the first time... help !

Good evening,everyone :)

Hope that none of you were victims of any cruel pranks this 1st day of April . I must say that such amusement is the furthest from my mind,as an important date is rapidly approaching. I've stepped out on a limb,so to speak,and  I'll be having a booth at a craft show/public event for the very first time. I know that many of you are very experienced working with the public and selling your wares .I have never done this sort of thing before, and there are two areas that concern me specifically.

1. I have been told that I am expected (since this is a "learning" type of event) to demonstrate the craft a bit. I'll be using a small gas forge. I was wondering what sort of simple techniques that you guys would recomend for demonstration purposes,balancing simplicty with still being able to keep people interested.

2. Layout. I have a 10x10 ft space to work in. how should i position my forge and anvil for the best effect? Should the anvil be between me and the people watching?

Also,if anyone has any tips on dealing with people,sales,etc. at a public event like this, i would be extremely appreciative to have you enlighten me,as I'm feeling a bit overwhelmed.

We demo at a lot of events.  Most of out time is spent talking and making nails.  When done, we usually give the nails to the kids.  'S' hooks are fast.  I have been packing horse shoes and making the Brian Brazeal style heart.  Google Blacksmith History, Stories andfLore.  These will give you something to talk about while you forge.  The forge will bring back special memories for some of the older folks.  Some of them are very happy when we surprise them with a freshly forged nail. 

Greetings H & H ,