I Forge Iron

brazing stainless

I've got a problem brazing a drain tube to some deep drawn stainless vessels.I've got no experience with thin stainless so I just don't know whats going on.The stainless looks to be about 26 ga  and the drain tubes are 3/8 od with a wall thickness of 1/8. I braze the tube in place and then complete the connection by running a drill bit down through the middle of the tube through the stainless flat material. and it gives me a nice neat connection but everytime   I end up with fractures in the thin stainless through the zone where the brazing was done. I tried silicon bronze rod and had the same results.The stainless is paper thin and I know it has a lot of stress on it from the forming operation and the tubing is of a relatively thicker cross section, could the differental cooling be the problem?  I started off trying to TIG it but I end up blowing holes through the base material.Any suggestions? Bob.

The only thing I could suggest is to try silver solder. When you were TIG welding did you use a argon purge? What was yout torch set up? I would be using a .045 tungstung and a gas lens and a very low amperage setting. I think you should be able to TIG weld it.

I would Tig weld it with 308 -.30 tc rod  heat mim low amps also if can use 1/16 tunstun or smaller

I do this all the time though getting hard to see that small of a weld :wacko:

you can also solder it they make a spical rod + flux kit for that never have tried it yet ?? but its on my play with / try  list

Steve's Welding