I Forge Iron

Bellota hammers?

Butterfield

I'm new to smithing and need a hammer (something between the 1 lb ball peen and 4 lb small sledge I have now). There is a local farrier supply that carries a 2 lb Bellota cross peen. I used a similair weight cross peen in my recent class. I was wondering if anyone has an opinion on the brand?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B000SDGV8E/ref=aw_d_detail?pd=1

I'm new to smithing and need a hammer (something between the 1 lb ball peen and 4 lb small sledge I have now). There is a local farrier supply that carries a 2 lb Bellota cross peen. I used a similair weight cross peen in my recent class. I was wondering if anyone has an opinion on the brand?

I've only known their rasps, but they make a good rasp and have been in business a long time.

Bellotta, isn't that sold mostly in Europe and South America? I had a square faced cross peen hammer that was made in Spain that I bought from a Mexican for $2 and sold to another smith for $20 just because he thought it would be so cool to have  a square faced cross peen. I thought that by asking $20 for it he'd choke on the price and not buy it but I was wrong. ;)

Bellotta is a good hammer. I have several. All their tools are good. Go ahead and buy them :)

Mac, that is to large a question to be adequately answered here but look at fullers, most are straight.  You angle the hammer face to use the edge as a straight pein.  Look at the many videos on You Tube.

With all this said watch Brian's video on You Tube.  He uses a round faced Rounding Hammer.

Mac, that is to large a question to be adequately answered here but look at fullers, most are straight.  You angle the hammer face to use the edge as a straight pein.  Look at the many videos on You Tube.

With all this said watch Brian's video on You Tube.  He uses a round faced Rounding Hammer.

Ah yes, I see what you're saying now. Seems like horses for courses if you ask me.