I Forge Iron

simple permanent coal forge questions

jblue

Im finally done building my shop and wanna put a permanent forge in it but dont wanna spend a ton of money but dont want one that looks like u set it on top of a bar stool and taped it together.I need some ideas and im new to blacksmithing. Any help would be great. thanks

Don't get committed to a style of forge early on. Forges are like light sabers, you need to build one to get you started, but with some skills
and some practice under your belt, you will find you can build a better forge in a couple of months, or a year from now. By then, that pile of bricks you put together might not fit the work you're doing.

My first forge was a brake drum on wobbly legs with a furnace fan providing the draft. A year or two later that same brake drum was mounted in a modified plant stand that had a table on one side and a tool rack on the other side with a hand cranked blower attached. 2 yrs after that the same brake drum was mounted in a rolling service cart with a wide steel table and fire bricks deepening the firepot for charcoal.

Now I've got a big cast iron table with firepot and am forging with coal, but 4 years prior I wouldnt' have recognized the value of THAT forge when I saw the lousy picture on craigslist. That original brake drum in its third base went to a new smith at an Iron in the Hat event a couple of months ago.

How the forge looks is meaningless to how it works and the work you produce with it.

What type of forge would be good for you depends a lot on what you are going to do---which you don't mention.
A forge that's great for knifemaking may be horrible for ornamental work.

You also don't mention what fuel you plan to use. So someone could spend an hour typing in details of an oil fueled forge only to be told---well I want a charcoal one.

So give a thought as to what kind of information we would need to help *you*!