I Forge Iron

Ron Reil burner help please

TeHFReaK

hi im new to blacksmithing and want to get into it. i recently made the ron reil burner and it seems to be working fine outside the forge ( tested holding on to it in a vice) but when i put it in my forge to test it ( 7 gal air tank) the burner kinda sputters and just throws a soft feathery flame.

any ideas on what is causeing this. i was thinking maybe the hole i drilled for the gas was a little big... only had a .062 drill and it may of wandered a bit hole is more closer to .100" now... any help would be appreciated since i have no oe around me that i know of to bounce ideas off from... ill try to post some pictures asap

You are excessively rich because the jet oriface is too big. Your choices are start over with fresh feed pipe and a #60 drill, which is .04 inches OR buy a drill and tap set for 1/4-28 and a package of .035 mig contact tips (which are about .04 inch). Drill out your current oriface as square as you can then tap it. You can adjust the contact tip slightly by bending it with a wrench fitted over it.

You may need to cut the tip shorter and clean up the inside edge with a torch file. You need a sharp edge so the gas separates from the surface.

I built a Reil burner but switched to a different burner since I could not maintain a stable flame out doors in slightly windy conditions. I built Frosty's T burner which I am please with even though it is difficult to tune initially (you have to cut the contact tip used as an oriface shorter to tune)

http://anvilsandinks...com/burner.html
http://www.iforgeiro...-and-made-this/

Phil

Welcome, if you post your location Im sure someone local will offer advice as well.