I Forge Iron

Zinc coating (dumb newbie question)

Hi all

I'm very new to this and am just finding my way around. I have a large steel pipe fence that I want to use and cut up. The problem is is that on the inside of the pipes (the outside is painted) are dark grey and show barely any corrosion, just little flecks of rust.

Anyway I have read about the fume fevers you can get when working with this stuff and I want to be as safe as possible when it comes to that. How can I tell if this is coated with zinc or not? I can't really get in there to look since it's a 2" wide pipe, nor can I file it off.

Sorry if this is comes off as a dumb question, but I really want to begin without getting sick from fumes. I can't wait to join your forum also, it looks like a great place :)

If you're not sure how to determine if a piece of steel is galvanized, place a small sample in a bowl of vinegar. If the steel begins to give off bubbles after a little bit, the specimen has a zinc coating.

If it is galvy, you can strip the coating with vinegar or another weak acid. File/sand between acid baths to make sure you get all of it.

• 1 month later...

Zinc fumes aren't just dangerous, they're downright deadly. People have died from doing less than cooking zinc off of a few fence posts.
The most I do with galvanized is through 4 inch lag bolts (making wedges for hammer heads, i still prefer un-galvanized), 1 lag bolt in at a time to cook off the coating. Even this little bit kills my fire to the point where forge welding is hopeless.

Jerome, you might want to do a little research before you start spreading erroneous information. Zinc fumes are not good for you but they are not deadly. You might check out some of the posts in the safety section of this forum, or do a google search on metal fume fever.

http://www.iforgeiron.com/topic/8272-galvanized-zinc-fumes-and-milk/

http://www.iforgeiron.com/topic/8289-zinc-cadmium-hydrogen-fluoride-and-other-toxic-compounds/