I Forge Iron

Made my first gas forge

rlonstein

I'm just starting out but last week I assembled my first gas forge from a scavenged refrigerant canister. Lined it with 1" of Kaowool all around then about 2" of Kast-o-lite 30. After it dried for a couple of days and I ran a few test firings, I painted the interior with Plistix 900F:
post-23599-0-76876600-1340157056_thumb.j post-23599-0-81819800-1340157172_thumb.j

The burner ran great outside the forge (see my earlier topic http://www.iforgeiro...my-first-burner) but it ran rich in the forge itself so tonight I replaced the 0.30" MIG tip with a 0.25" one. Less gas, higher velocity. Nice. Almost no orange. It gets good and hot for forging.
post-23599-0-74207500-1340157262_thumb.j post-23599-0-18442700-1340157494_thumb.j post-23599-0-28273900-1340157528_thumb.j

And it works! My first effort with it (also my first effort without anyone coaching me), a 1/2" steel bar drawn, scrolled, and twisted:
post-23599-0-09619600-1340157573_thumb.j

Thanks to all of you for the info and to WayneCoe for the supplies and advice.

Now I just need practice :rolleyes:

Looks like a good forge! Is there an open space between the large pipe the holds the and the burner pipe? If so I would stuff some kaowool in there to prevent cold air from being sucked in....no bueno...... :)
Oh and thanks for not asking if you should or how to cut it open......

Looks like a good forge! Is there an open space between the large pipe the holds the and the burner pipe? If so I would stuff some kaowool in there to prevent cold air from being sucked in....no bueno...... :)

Yes. I stuffed the collar with scraps of kaowool when I was tuning it.

Oh and thanks for not asking if you should or how to cut it open......

For the record, I used a large punch to put a hole in the empty canister then filled it with water before mangling it. The MSDS (and the side of the can) say the contents are non-flammable but I didn't feel much like proving it.