I Forge Iron

The process of making tools (step by step)

Hello all,

First I'm new to blacksmithing and I’m currently building my workshop ( pics will follow ). I’m familiar with metalwork but not blacksmithing. As a starter blacksmith I understand I have to make my tools and I was wondering if anyone can give me a simple way to start making punchers and chisels.

Thanx
Zord

Well forging out the shapes that you need doesn't require to much, you can grind them to shape a bit as well. Whats important is getting the proper heat treat on them which depends on what you will be using to make them. Having a punch or chisel snap under a big hammer blow would be no fun at the least.

Tool steal rods can be purchased online or wherever, hammer out what you need, normalize, grind, heat, quench, temper, use. Also its good to have a punch lubricant if your going through anything fairly thick.

Almost missed it, Welcome aboard!

IFI is represented world wide, so putting a location in your profile will help.

There may also be someone near by who can help. In many areas there are blacksmithing groups, who can help you learn much much faster than on your own by being able to show and demonstrate.

Phil

Here is my take on the subject of making tools. If you are going to the trouble to make a tool you must need it and it should be of good quality. To start with, making tools from mild steel or a steel that you’re unsure of the alloy, is a potential waste of time. A 6’ length of 4140 1” square bar costs me about $70.00, that’s about 60 cents for 6” long piece. If you are going to grind it, drill it, file it, mill or forge it to some shape, you should be able to heat treat it after words to get something worth having. The cost of the steel is little compared to your time.