I Forge Iron

greathelm , my first larger project

doner765

hey guys,
i've been working on this helmet for some time now. It's my first attempt on armour construction. I created the patterns myself with a little help from the internet. Its made from 2mm mild steel ,but the top plate is thinned out due to deep dishing ;)(i guess its about 1.5 mm now).I still have to drill a few(~97) holes, as you can see in one of the photos. If you wish i could upload the patterns for you , it will be work to digitize them since i drew them on a A3 sheet.
The helm is both cold and hot worked. the plates are cut out , bend and then very easy to fit together (ha-ha). it was kind a hard to make the top plate that strong domed since i'm very inexperienced , and i think it will dent easily..

greetings from Germany , Jan

post-23207-0-43424800-1328722182_thumb.j

post-23207-0-64896400-1328722190_thumb.j

post-23207-0-52384400-1328722205_thumb.j

post-23207-0-81061200-1328722221_thumb.j

Well since it is riveted on you can always remove the rivets and replace it with a thicker one!

Note: when overlapping plates I would do it so that they don't channel sharp points *into* the armour but rather shrugs them off: so the Dome overlaps the outside of the Face and the top section of the face over laps the bottom section. This is based on most strong blows being swung overhand rather than coming up from below. Also front to back as well but it looks like that was done.

I once did a spangen helm where I forged all the metal out too. Nothing was made from stock but made by hammering out thicker material into thinner. I feel that mine ended up too heavy as I didn't have access to a powerhammer; but it was practice for doing one all out of pattern welded material---I have some of the billets welded up and a trial plate I did using someone else's powerhammer but it's waiting till I get mine finally online.