I Forge Iron

Welding Technology Certificate

Greetings All,

I'm looking to go back to school for a Welding Certificate at the local trade school. Below are the classes offered in the program. I would like to get your thoughts on the programs classes offered. I have no welding experience and will be taking a blacksmith courses nest spring from a local organization.

Thanks for your help.

WLDT 1410 Oxy-Acetylene Welding, Cutting & Brazing, Carbon Arc & Plasma 4
WLDT 1420 Intro to SMAW, Metallurgy & Welding Theory E6013 & E6010 4
WLDT 1430 Intro to Blueprint & Measuring Devices 4
WLDT 1440 Intro to Welding Certification & SMAW E7018 4
WLDT 1510 GMAW, Short Arc 4
WLDT 1520 Intro to GTAW - Mild Steel & Stainless 4
WLDT 1530 GMAW Spray & Pulse & Welding Certification 4
WLDT 1540 GTAW Blueprint Symbols, Weld Inspection & Welder Certification 4
Total Program Credits 32

Welcome to IFI! That sounds like a great lesson plan of study, and I hope you get many hours of practice welding in this school. That is everything in a nutshell.. PRACTICE lots of practice lots of hours , days, weeks of practice. Where do you want to go with welding? Pipe welding? Many opportunities!! after the school has certified you go to your local union and get in the apprentice program, as a certified welder you will almost immediatly jump to full journeyman wages. and earn good money. Good luck!

All the classes listed will give you a good foundation on your welding career.

Like Old & Rusty say's pratice, practice, practice. Even when you start to get consistently good coupons, start to learn to use your opposite hand.

I have work with a lot of men who have not had a good, or any welding education and the ones who have always seem to be a step ahead of the ones who have had none.

Good luck! B)