I Forge Iron

Looking for a smallish anvil in the NYC area

Ideally in Westchester County somewhere. I'd rather not pay more than $200 to $225 for it, as I'm rather poor. I'm not terribly picky about the weight (can anyone give me a concise description of how weight affects what you can work, other than size of the working surface?), something between 40 and 100 I guess. I'm new at this, just sort of muddling around on my own.

Ideally in Westchester County somewhere. I'd rather not pay more than $200 to $225 for it, as I'm rather poor. I'm not terribly picky about the weight (can anyone give me a concise description of how weight affects what you can work, other than size of the working surface?), something between 40 and 100 I guess. I'm new at this, just sort of muddling around on my own.

It's not a case of what size you can work, but the relative ease of working them.

Try this thread:

Monster Anvils - I Forge Iron

Although it's not quite about that topic, it might answer your question.

Any big old hunk of iron will suffice as an anvil if you set it up right. it does not have to be fancy, flat and heavy will do the trick. Small piece of Rail Road Track, scrap yard finds, or plates bolted together can all make a servicable anvil of sorts. Just be creative and have your buddies keep their eyes open for stuff you might want and follow through when you hear about something.

Good luck with your hunt.

Peter

Well right now I'm using a baseplate from a railroad track. It's been doing a good job but it's getting a bit dented which is annoying as I do primarily knifesmithing and I like a nice, flat blade. Also I'm finding having a horn would be really useful because I wanted to make a doorknocker.

Ah Knifemaking! May I commend to your attention http://www.marco-borromei.com/fork.html

And no one will argue that forklifts are not endemic to that area!