I Forge Iron

Blacksmith demo laws

I am looking to do my very first blacksmithing demonstration, in conjunction with a shopkeeper who has been selling my work for me for a while now. He also organises arts and crafts fairs, and has asked me to participate and do a blacksmithing demonstration at his next craft fair.

Thing is, I have never done a demo before, and I was curious about the legal and health and safety concerns relating to it. Should I be worried about insurance? In what ways could I potentially get myself in trouble with this? How do I ensure that the guy helping me out is not in any legal risk either?

I should point out that I am a UK resident, so it is UK law that I am concerned about.

I am looking to do my very first blacksmithing demonstration, in conjunction with a shopkeeper who has been selling my work for me for a while now. He also organises arts and crafts fairs, and has asked me to participate and do a blacksmithing demonstration at his next craft fair.

Thing is, I have never done a demo before, and I was curious about the legal and health and safety concerns relating to it. Should I be worried about insurance? In what ways could I potentially get myself in trouble with this? How do I ensure that the guy helping me out is not in any legal risk either?

I should point out that I am a UK resident, so it is UK law that I am concerned about.

Most Craft shows in the UK require you to carry public liability insurance for a minimum amount £2,000,000 this may vary with each show.

There are also conditions attached to that insurance, minimum distance for public to be near to forge/anvil etc

Health and safety concerns may be regulated by the shows themselves as they usually have their own "officers" present.

Location of pitch can also be a problem, depending on your kind of set up, and the adjacent stands and surrounding area.

You should be able to get a copy of what is required from the show organisers.