I Forge Iron

a better welding hat

For 18 years i was a certified nuclear pipe welder. and dressed " welder " starched khaki shirts, a black T, and the loudest, burn the eyes with color and design welding hats i could get. Till now we only had two choices of welding cap, a hard visor cap like the baseball kind and the soft cloth kind. the soft one has its best moments in winter as a skull cap, worn with a "hoody" sweatshirt. That was the preferred wear under the hardhat.the soft bill was more comfortable. In summer the baseball kind was better because when worn wet it cooled better by being less in contact with the head. Now in Old Navy there is a hard bill "military " looking hat in canvas that is better than either for a welding hat.It offers a higher crown and more space for cooling air and just looks cool. All the RAP artists are wearing them. dont let that stop you welders or wannabe welders from checking them out. the come in sand color. an O.D. , a navy blue, and a field grey. I dont know if they got a camo version or a sand n chocolate chip. I got a very big head and my size 7-5/8 is available. Oh, you might ask why a black T? less reflecting light under the hood than a white T.

yes it is 100% cotton a tight weave mil. spec. canvas fabric. It works great as a head cooler in my shop where i dont wear a hardhat. The soft caps fit too closely to the scalp to stay cool, this cap has a large amount of air space on top that will remain wet and cool.