I Forge Iron

Cone mandrels and what they are worth these days

Sam Salvati

I've heard them called "the most expensive coat rack in a smithy!"

I've been forging for over 25 years now and have never found a strong enough need for one to shell out the change for one. Of course my stack of rounds for shaping stuff on has grown pretty high over that time. In general I prefer not having the tapered round to bend stuff on.

At Quad-State a fellow had some missle nose cones that had failed quality check that they were selling as intermediate sized cones---about 3' high IIRC for very resonable prices, under US$100 IIRC.

I have one that is 4 feet tall with the tong slot up one side. It does not go to a point but ends about 4" in diameter with a square interior to hold a smaller cone - which I don't own.

It been in the shop for about 15 years and I have NEVER used it - but as folks have said, it's probably the cat's meow when needed.

I have one that is 4 feet tall with the tong slot up one side. It does not go to a point but ends about 4" in diameter with a square interior to hold a smaller cone - which I don't own.

It been in the shop for about 15 years and I have NEVER used it - but as folks have said, it's probably the cat's meow when needed.

If you need to make rings, OH BOY ARE THEY EVER!!!!!!!!!