I Forge Iron

russian cast steel aso

Hey guys, I have a russian cast steel ASO that I've been using for the past 6 months. I have been widely unimpressed with this piece of junk, especially the fact that the face is WAY to soft. After attempting to harden it, I have found that it is either mild or a very low carbon steel... :angry:

Anyways, I was wondering if it would be worth it to add a tool steel face plate to the anvil. If so, what method should I use? Should I forge weld it onto there? arc/mig weld? epoxy? light-cure? braze? or use some other method?

Advice will be greatly appreciated. :)

Although, if it's cast steel rather than cast iron, shouldn't he be able to either harden or hard face it?

If he has more time than money, he could conceivably do a spark test to see if it's higher carbon than plain old mild steel. Couldn't he then heat and quench? Or, if he's got a friend who welds there might be an opportunity to add a layer of hard facing.

Neither option is easy nor cheap. But if he hasn't found another anvil it might make his current substandard solution better.

If course, if it's cast iron, there's no point in doing anything except looking for an anvil.

--edited to fix typos from typing with my thumbs the first time.--

Edited by bajajoaquin

How did you try to harden the anvil? is it the 110 pound one from harbor freight, some friends of mine have hardened them with good results, but you'll need a huge heat source and in the range of 500 gallons of water to quench it, maybe more. just dropping it in a 55 gallon barrel is not near enough water.