I Forge Iron

Parting off tool from Grizzly?

oscer

Unless you are parting off at high speed,doing production, or cutting hardened materials, you probably don't need the carbide insert style of parting tool. Most of the parting I do at work is done with the HSS blade type of parting tool. I have some thin brazed carbides that I use for some instances.

You chunk a HSS blade, and all you do is resharpen it. You chunk an insert,and you toss it in the carbide scrap can. Most of the ones I have seen broken cannot be flipped around, as there is nothing left to hold onto. I have HSS blade parting tools that I have had for over 20 years, and they still have a lot more life left in them.

BGD nailed it. Carbide insert tooling is very expensive if used when not required.

As an aside, I would hesitate to buy any machinists tools or equipment from Grizzly, but that is just me.

I've heard similar reports over on PM. about Grizzly. I have very little experience with their metal working tools but am pleased with recent wood working tools although the early stuff leaves a lot to be desired.
As far as hss parting tools go I must either be doing something wrong or have the wrong holder or ... cause it's not working for me.
I'm clamping a hss blade in the holder that came with the phase II quick change tool post. It looks like a poor clamping set up to me because there is no support at the back of the blade. The blade pulls down (I think)and digs into the work, usually slips the belt and then everything is in a bind.

I've heard similar reports over on PM. about Grizzly. I have very little experience with their metal working tools but am pleased with recent wood working tools although the early stuff leaves a lot to be desired.
As far as hss parting tools go I must either be doing something wrong or have the wrong holder or ... cause it's not working for me.