I Forge Iron

Aloha, Steve from Kauai here; I am a beginning smith and recently discovered IForgeIron through Don Fogg's website. I have been learning for about 3 years now, at first on my own, and for the last several months under the guidance of Ted Shanks. I have been learning some basic techniques and practicing hammer control. I started with a home made charcoal forge, built a propane forge and burners last Christmas, and have been buying and making tools. I see many talented people here and i thank you for the opportunity to view your posts and learn more about this great endeavor.

Welcome Steve - We all like pictures to enhance the story/ies - Do you have any laying around of your first forge and the three year journey, thus far, you would like to share?

Trevor

I will work on getting some photos posted when i can.....thanks for the welcome.

This is a shot of my first forge and one of my first RR spike knives, taken about 3 years ago when I started. The forge body was someone's throw away BBQ grill; I lined it with local clay and coated with Mizzou refractory, and used charcoal and/or wood for fuel. A 3/4" pipe with 1/4 " holes served as the tuyere, and a hair dryer served as the air source; a "T" fitting with a damper regulated the air flow. I used the forge (with one reline) for the last 3 years until I built my first propane forge from a R134 Freon can last Xmas. I will add more photos as time permits. Aloha, Steve

post-13101-12682812930852_thumb.jpg

After my first early efforts on a cast iron pos anvil; I upgraded to a post anvil which in its former life was an excavator demolition bit; this photo was a little over 2 years ago. An awesome anvil. it still resides just outside the back door of my garage.Weight is unknown but it gets heavier every time I move; current estimate is around 500 pounds.

post-13101-12683218943661_thumb.jpg