I Forge Iron

Blacksmiths in SA?

Sorry to co-opt this forum guys, as I know it's for you guys in the west. It just seemed like the best place to get in touch with other Australian smiths, particularly in my own instance those in South Oz.

I've got only a little experience in smithing directly, but am immensely keen to learn more. I'd love to get in touch with any locals who are keen to share any knowledge and experience, and who might benefit from some workshop assistance in return. Being a teacher, I do get relatively frequent fortnight-long breaks, so it needn't just be days here and there. Honestly, I'd just be pleased to meet people from the local smithing community. :)

IForgeIron is a world wide forum with visitors from over 50 world wide countries on a regular basis. The only reason the western part of Oz appears to have a large group of blacksmiths is because they speak up. There are several on the eastern side of Oz, Taz, and other parts of that country which visit on a regular basis. Now we have a representative from the south of Oz (grin). Welcome to IForgeIron

G'day SofaMan, there are a number of blacksmiths hammering around in the suburbs of Adelaide, but my understanding is that there is no formal group, that meets on a regular basis. However, there is one very experienced smith who lives in Black Forrest, I think it is. One of our members here in the "west" visited him earlier this year. If I remember correctly, his name is Geoff Barnes. I'm afraid I don't have a contact number, but I'm pretty sure he lives in Black Forrest. Perhaps it'd be worth a look in the phone book and give him a call. He was very helpful and showed great hospitality to our member when he visited.

Apparently, he has a well set up shop in his back yard. I hope this is of some help for you. You can tell him that you found out about him through us, if you like. Cheers, Brian. Blacksmith's Association of Western Australia