I Forge Iron

Forge Building Advice

Koutetsu

Hey guys.

Newbie here, so speak Simply. :)

I am building a permanent forge in my back yard, which will also do some service as a toolshed. I am new to this, and most of my knowledge on forge mechanics and workings has come from the site Beautiful Iron.

Is this site trustworthy? It seems very knowledgable, but i would like to get some second opinions. My building will be 20' x10', and I am building a double forge, as several of my friends are helping me in the construction in exchange for forge time. :)

I am going with a brick forge and chimney, with a partially paved dirt floor.
Please, i am in need of advice.

thanks!

Koutetsu, welcome to I Forge Iron

You pose a couple of interesting questions, and I would be willing to give you my opinion!

In response to your question when you said:
”Is this site trustworthy? It seems very knowledgable, but i would like to get some second opinions.”
My opinion: I feel this site is trustworthy. But, just like many other sites where thousands of people give their opinion, some of their opinions seem to be out in left field at times and I would not trust them!
I feel it is up to you to do your homework like it seems you have been doing to make sure that any information given on this site or any other site is something that you are willing to buy into and accept the consequences if the information is incorrect.

You will be the final authority of using any information found.

The good news is that we have an open forum here at I forge Iron. It seem as though there is a healthy exchange of opinions at times. If something seems un-safe or is absolutely incorrect, we have members (and management) here with a vast amount of experience that will stand in and make a correction if necessary.